Return to Agendas


Orientation Institute for OIT Instructional Technology Specialists



Goals:
1- Build excitement
2- Build team
3- Build desire to stay on team

Institute Objectives:
1- What does it mean to work for OIT? What is the OIT way?
2- How is a staff developer OIT certified?
3-What does it mean to be part of an iProgram?

Institute Activities
Reside at: iCoach

TIME: 9:00 - 4:00

DATES
Thurs, Aug 30/Fri, Aug 31 - Borough Staff Developer Orientation Agenda(Borough Sites: Location, Location, Location)


Mon, Sept 3 - No School (Labor Day)
Tues, Sept 4 - OIT Institute OIT Program Output - DAY I.doc
Wed, Sept 5 - OIT Institute
Thurs, Sept 6 - Borough Staff Developer Planning Day
Fri, Sept 7 - Borough Staff Developer Planning Day

Mon, Sept 10 - Borough Staff Developer Planning Day
Tues, Sept 11 - Borough Staff Developer Planning Day
Wed, Sept 12 - Central Orientation Day
Thurs, Sept 13 - No School (Rosh Hashanah)
Fri, Sept 14 - No School (Rosh Hashanah)

Mon, Sept 17 - Borough Staff Developer Planning Day
Tues, Sept 18 - iProject Interactive/ iProject Interactive Core (SmartBoards) (45-18 Court Square) - Frances Newsome-Lang
Wed, Sept 19 - Central Orientation Day
Thurs, Sept 20 - Managing the 21st Century Classroom (45-18 Court Square) - Kim Adams
Fri, Sept 21 - Borough Staff Developer Planning Day

Mon, Sept 24 - Borough Staff Developer Planning Day
Tues, Sept 25 - Borough Staff Developer Planning Day
Wed, Sept 26 - Cultivating the Capable Coach(1) (Day 1) - (IS 303K) - Cindy Harrison (National Staff Development Council)
Thurs, Sept 27 - Cultivating the Capable Coach(2) (Day 2) (IS 303K) - Cindy Harrison (National Staff Development Council)
Fri, Sept 28 - Data Driven Decision Making (Location TBD) - ARIS Training - IBM (Tentative)

Mon, Oct 1 - Borough Staff Developer Planning Day
Tues, Oct 2 -
Wed, Oct 3 - Central Orientation Day
Thurs, Oct 4 - Web 2.0 Collaboration Tools (Bay Ridge) - Jim McDermott / Google Applications (Bay Ridge) - Michael Stoff
Fri, Oct 5 - Borough Staff Developer Planning Day

Mon, Oct 8 - No School (Columbus Day)
Tues, Oct 9 - Podcasting (Location TBD) - David Nash - Apple
Wed, Oct 10 - Central Orientation Day
Thurs, Oct 11 - Videoconferencing (Mirabel Sisters School- Manhattan) - Dr. Lynn Hunter
Fri, Oct 12 - Borough Staff Developer Planning Day

Mon, Oct 15 - Borough Staff Developer Planning Day
Tues, Oct 16 - 21st Century Teacher Development Tools (Fordham University, Bronx) - Steve Dagustino
Wed, Oct 17 - Central Orientation Day
Thurs, Oct 18 - Adobe Photoshop (TBA) - Adobe
Fri, Oct 19 - Borough Staff Developer Planning Day

Mon, Oct 22 - Borough Staff Developer Planning Day
Tues, Oct 23 - Captivate (TBA) - Adobe
Wed, Oct 24 - Central Orientation Day
Thurs, Oct 25 - Adobe Acrobat (TBA) - Adobe
Fri, Oct 26 - Borough Staff Developer Planning Day


Mon, Oct 29 - Cinematography (Day 1) - (Bay Ridge) - Marco Torres - Apple
Tues, Oct 30 - Cinematography (Day 2) - (Bay Ridge) - Marco Torres - Apple
Wed, Oct 31 - Cinematography (Day 1) - (Bay Ridge) - Marco Torres - Apple
Thurs, Nov 1- Cinematography (Day 2) - (Bay Ridge) - Marco Torres - Apple
Fri, Nov 2 - Borough Staff Developer Planning Day

Location, Location, Location: Borough training sites

Central Training Sites
Bronx Training Sites
Brooklyn Training Sites
Manhattan Training Sites
Queens Training Sites
Staten Island Training Sites

NOTES:
Borough Staff Developer Planning Day =
Borough Directors work directly with Borough Staff Developers in Boroughs
Wednesday Central Staff Developer Planning Day = Borough/Prong Directors work directly with Borough/Prong Staff Developers. This could translate into various items we realize may be necessary throughout the institute for example:
  • Prong directors leads a meeting or workshop for prong liaisons
  • Borough Director leads a meeting or workshop
  • OIT Director leads a meeting or workshop
  • Directors meet while staff developers engage in agreed upon activity for their borough
  • Directors meet while staff developers engage in agreed upon activity for their prong
--Note: The Wednesday work of staff developers may or may not occur in a central location, as dictated by the work agreed upon by the directors. Following the orientation institute, Wednesdays will likely become the day that directors have access to all staff developers if necessary for all or part of the day.